Election 2021

Attention: Groton Area School District Patrons

An election for Groton Area Board of Education will be held on Tuesday, April 13, 2021.  Four candidates running for two open positions are Anna Schwan, Martin D. Weismantel (I), Ryan Tracy and Kara M. Pharis (I).  To vote in this election, you must be a registered voter of the Groton Area School District.  If you are in doubt about your registration status, contact your local county auditor.  Voter registration ends March 29, 2021.

On election day, the school district will operate polling sites from 7:00 AM to 7:00 PM at Andover Other Place, Bristol Community Center, Columbia Legion and Groton Community Center.  With respect to COVID-19 issues, please make good health related decisions when voting on election day.

In-person absentee voting will be available beginning March 15, 2021 at the High School Business Office located in Groton at 502 North 2nd Street from 9:00 AM to 4:00 PM Monday through Friday.  Voters may vote in-person up until 5:00 PM the day before the election. 

Voters may also vote absentee by mail or absentee by messenger, in the event of confinement due to sickness or disability.  To receive a South Dakota Absentee Ballot Application Form call Mike Weber, at 605-397-2351 extension 1008, or email mike.weber@k12.sd.us.  Forms are also available on-line at www.grotonarea.com and www.sdsos.gov.

Mike Weber
Election Superintendent
Groton Area Schools