Search Site

This search form uses an instant search feature. As you type, search results will appear automatically below the search field. When you've entered you desired search terms use tab to navigate through the available results and hit enter to open the selected page or document.
School Board Election Postponed
School Board Election Postponed
Groton Area School District
Friday, April 03, 2020

Attention: Groton Area School District Patrons

The election for the Groton Area Board of Education has been postponed to Tuesday, June 2, 2020.  This is the corresponding date of the 2020 presidential primary election.  Three candidates running for two open positions on the school board are Jason Bickel, Steven R. Smith and Grant Rix.  In order to vote in this election, you must be a registered voter of the Groton Area School District.  If you are in doubt about your registration status, contact your local county auditor.  Voter registration ends May 18, 2020.

On election day, the school district will operate polling sites from 7:00 AM to 7:00 PM at Andover Other Place, Bristol Community Center, Columbia Legion and Groton Community Center.  Please note that Andover and Bristol patrons will not cast a presidential primary vote at their location.  Day County will hold primary voting in Webster only.  With respect to COVID-19 issues, please make good health related decisions when voting on election day.

In-person absentee voting is available at the school business office located at 406 North 2nd Street in Groton from 9:00 AM to 4:00 PM Monday through Friday.  Voters may vote in-person up until 5:00 PM on the day before the election. 

Voters may also vote absentee by mail or absentee by messenger, in the event of confinement due to sickness or disability.  To receive a South Dakota Absentee Ballot Application Form call Mike Weber, at 605-397-2351 extension 1008, or email are also available on-line. If you have any question concerning the application call (605) 397-2351, extension 1008, or email

Mike Weber
Election Superintendent
Groton Area Schools